Dental School alum named Dentist of the Year


photo credit: Texas Academy of General Dentistry

Dr. Warren B. Branch, class of 1981, has been named the 2011 Texas Dentist of the Year at a ceremony in Austin in September.  Dr. Branch, who practices here in San Antonio, was nominated by the San Antonio District Dental Society (SADDS) for his commitment to advancing excellence in dentistry through activism in organized dentistry, dedication to continuing education and participation in charitable work and civic involvement. 

The Texas Dentist of the Year is one of the most prestigious awards given to a dentist in the state of Texas.  It is presented by the Texas Academy of General Dentistry and this year, there were 21 nominees.  Dr. Branch faced some tough competition from other dentists such as Dr. James B. Summitt, professor at the Dental School at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio (UTHSCSA), along with fellow alumni from across the state.

Dr. Branch is a former president of the SADDS, has served as Vice Chair and Chairman of DenPac from 2008-2011 and is a current member of the Development Board at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio.


To read more, visit the sites below.

School of Dentistry


Register now to enjoy the full range of benefits, including the Alumni Directory and Class Notes, HSC e-mail updates and e-newsletters, and the ability to update your personal profile information and access your personal giving history.

You do not need to register to make an online donation.

UT Health Science Center San Antonio

Office of Institutional Advancement, MC – 7835
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, Texas 78229-3900
Phone: (210) 567-9219 | Fax: (210) 567-3016

Copyright 2011-2016 UT Health Science Center San Antonio

Links from web sites affiliated with The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio’s web site ( to other web sites
do not constitute or imply university endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.